I realize this post has NOTHING to do with losing weight!  It’s actually more about how to gain weight.  I just figured, it’s my blog and I can do what I want to, so if you would like to hear about my quick trip to some fun Texas attractions, read on my friends. File_000 (175)

I have a 14-year-old son who does not like to be away from home for long and he’s already a high maintenance traveler.  He even brings his own toilet paper because he doesn’t want to chance having to use 1-ply.  I had to keep this in mind while planning a summer vacation, so I kept it short.

File_000 (174).jpegWe started by driving to Houston on a Thursday morning.  We stopped in The Woodlands for lunch and checked into our hotel as soon as we could.  We stayed at the Marriott Marquis in downtown Houston which is across from Minute Maid Stadium and the convention center.  The Marquis was worth every penny!  They have a Texas shaped lazy river on the roof of the 6th story.  Floats are included and there is another infinity pool on the roof next to the bar.  There were also green spaces covered in astroturf with outdoor games like giant Jenga and cornhole.  After we floated the lazy river for a couple of hours with our drinks, we relaxed in the giant hot tub.

File_000 (176).jpeg

We headed to NASA the next morning which was only about 20 minutes away.  Tip: Buy tickets online to skip all of the lines.  I wasn’t looking forward to NASA really, but once we arrived I was fascinated.  This could be an all day event, but we only spent 3 hours at NASA.  We ended up eating in the food court there which I would not recommend.  Of course, it was overpriced and not that great so I would have packed a lunch if I was a better planner.

File_000 (179).jpeg

We drove from NASA straight to New Braunfels.  It took around 3 1/2 hours.  We stayed at the Courtyard Marriott on the river.  This was the neatest hotel for families!  They had live music both Friday and Saturday night, a huge lawn with games for kids, outdoor movies with free popcorn, and it was on the river so you can rent kayaks and stand-up paddleboards.  The room itself was ok, not super fancy but it’s a river hotel, not a luxury hotel.

We headed to historic Gruene.  This is a must see in Texas.  However, heat, crowds, and old buildings do not equal fun for kids so this is where our family had a little breakdown. I don’t even remember what happened, but I ended up walking off by myself for a while. Just keeping it real.  After we were seated at the famous Gristmill and I had some chips and salsa in me, we all got along again.

File_000 (177).jpegWe woke up to rain the next morning so we decided to go to the Natural Bridge Caverns which is a cave.  This place was again more than I expected!  Our entire family loved it! They’ve built an amusement park atmosphere around it so you could spend an entire day here.  We only did the cave tour, and we were mesmerized.

File_000 (178).jpeg

In the afternoon, the rain stopped so we floated the Guadalupe.  We rented tubes from Rockin R.  Toobs are $20 per person and we had to get one for our ice chest too of course.  My son hated the river at first because there were bugs.  Once we hit some rapids and he found a sealed meat tray, 2 sodas and a Hershey bar, he was over his fear.  The river is really not great for kids, but mine were old enough.  If you take yours, make sure they are strong swimmers.  Also, you have to be ok with being surrounded by drunk people. We weren’t bothered because my kids are pretty oblivious.

File_000 (180).jpeg

Our final stop on the way home was 6th Street in downtown Austin where it was Good Vibes Only.  We ate at Easy Tiger where we had some really unique food.  The German board with soft pretzels, beer cheese, spicy mustard, potato salad and bratwurst was amazing!  All of our sandwiches were delicious too!

Our road trip was a success!  Next time, I’m thinking we will head to Oklahoma City.

 

