I really tried hard to workout at least 5 times a week in April and my body felt it. My legs were hungover, I walked like a 90-year-old, and I had to ask for help lifting grocery bags at times, but it was worth it for the muscle gain.  Luckily, there are lots of options for relief that are cheap and easily accessible to everyone!

The Float Spot

File_000 (152)

Have you ever wondered what it feels like to float in space? Floating in the isopod floatation tank is the closest you can get without becoming an astronaut.  I started by spending 20 minutes in the Aqua Massage Spa tank and it felt spectacular.  I went in with back pain, and after the aqua massage, it felt better.  The aqua tank is kind of like a car wash for humans except you do not get wet.  It’s surprisingly a nice deep tissue massage and it includes your choice of 4 aromatherapy options.

After the quick water massage, I entered the float room.  It’s extremely clean and quiet like a spa.  I was given instructions and then left in the room alone.  First I had to undress and take a shower to rinse off.  Then I put earplugs in and entered the pod.  The pod is full of 300 gallons of water saturated with 1,100 lbs. of Epsom Salt and heated at 92-94 degrees.   The water is comfortable because the temperature is skin temp.  The purpose is sensory deprivation, so after 10 minutes of floating with a soft blue light and wave music, the sounds stop and lights go out.  I really had to force myself to stay still and relax.  No matter how hard I tried, I could not allow my head to float without supporting it with my hands.  I only stayed for 30 minutes since it was my first time, but most people float for 1 hour.  I was extremely relaxed.

I would love to go back except I would go in the evening instead of morning because when I returned home, I slept for almost 3 hours.  I found out that sometimes detoxing can cause a flu-like feeling for a day or two and that is how my body felt.  My back no longer hurt, but I was so tired for the rest of the day.  The next day I felt amazing and had lots of energy.  My body really needed the detox!  The trick is to drink tons of water after the float session and I realized that the next day.  If you have sore muscles, trouble sleeping, or lots of stress, FLOAT!  Trust me, it is awesome!

Turmeric

File_000 (146)

This is being touted as the “new” Advil. It is a spice made from the turmeric plant which is in the ginger family and used in curry.  It has been proven to reduce inflammation so it is helpful for so many of the pains that ail you. The owner of AllPilates, Christine, advised me to try a teaspoon of turmeric with yellow mustard to alleviate soreness after pilates. It’s very cheap, so I thought why not give it a try?  She was right about it being disgusting, but I chased it with a La Croix and some gum.  It was actually helpful!  If you just can’t, but still want to try turmeric, Vim Vitae offers it in juice form or add some to your smoothie.

Cryotherapy

cropped-file_000-26

Cryotherapy is a sleek machine that looks similar to something you would see in a Sci-Fi movie.  You strip down to your underwear and put gloves, socks, and booties on that they provide then get into the machine.  The therapist enters the room and turns on the nitrogen which drops the temperature inside the machine to a cool -240 degrees. Smoke from the nitrogen gas begins to flow over the top of the machine and you feel like you are in a Snoop Dogg video.

I didn’t feel any difference right after exiting the machine, but pretty soon muscle soreness started to melt away.  I also slept better than ever that night.  At Cryo-X, you can also try localized cryo which is much less painful and just as beneficial.  I use it on my sore back and it reduces inflammation within minutes. 3 minutes of localized cryo simulates 8 hours of an ice pack.  Go on a Wednesday during their happy hour to try all of this at a discounted rate!

Epsom Salt Bath

I remember my grandmother making a pot of warm water with Epsom salt for my grandfather when he needed to soak his sore feet after work so this is nothing new. However, it is my go-to after every tough workout.  I fill my bath and add 2 cups of Epsom Salt and soak until someone in the family starts calling my name. MOM, MOM…you get the idea.  You actually only need to soak for about 10 minutes to pull the lactic acid out that has built up in your muscles.  It really makes a big difference!

Foam Roller

File_000 (153).jpeg

Most gyms and studios provide foam rollers for you to use when you are finished working out.  Don’t be shy about trying one out.  You can also purchase them on Amazon or at Target.  They can be used before and after a workout sesh to relieve sore muscles. They are important to use because they improve muscle recovery, break up scar tissue, and improve mobility.  It’s basically a way to massage yourself.  🙂 Drink plenty of water afterward to flush out all of the toxins that have been released.

