I’ve seen a ton of posts about what to buy your spouse for Valentine’s Day, but my husband and I aren’t big on gifts for this holiday (anyone else?).  We do love a fun date night though.  I’ve been married for 18 years, and our go-to date night used to be dinner and a movie.  After a while, that became boring and it was time to get out of the rut.  Sweat is supposed to be sexy too, right?  

1. Hiking

I was a teacher for 10 years, and we once had a ‘Teamwork Expert’ come lecture on conflict resolution.  I remember her telling us that if you meet in the same place all of the time and you aren’t getting along, move the location.  It works wonders!  I translated that to my marriage because almost every fight we’ve had was on the same couch.  Now if we have something to discuss that may cause tension, we walk and talk.  Bonus if you have a dog too.  If you live near Frisco, Arbor Hills Nature Preserve is a beautiful place to hike.  There are several trails and scenery that you just can’t get walking through your neighborhood.  Plus it’s 100% Free!

file_000-18

2. Sign up for a fun 5K together

I have a confession.  Shhh, don’t tell!  I have never in my adult life ran an entire mile without stopping to walk.  Oh I’ve tried!  I’ve been to the track, I’ve gone with a running buddy and I’ve even downloaded the Couch to 5K App on my phone.  Nothing has worked for me.  I blame my boobs.  I just don’t think God created me to run.  In caveman days, I would have been the first to get eaten by a tiger.  However, all of the fun 5Ks I see have intrigued me enough to actually sign up for one with my husband.  I’m not starting with a Tough Mudder but with something on the lighter side.  We are trying the Firefly 5K in Plano.  It’s at night so I can hide in the crowd and I won’t have to get up at the crack of dawn.  If you want to look for a 5K to run/walk with your spouse, go to www.active.com for a list of runs in your area.

3. Cyclebar

My husband is an avid “spinner” so I never would agree to go to class with him for fear of humiliation, but Cyclebar was giving out free wine after class so I figured I could ride for booze. We went on a Friday night during Happy Hour and they had a live DJ (DJ Rocko) spinning the entire time.  The instructor, Kaanji, was so much fun that we felt like we were at a club without the pressure of having to dance (Is the running man still socially acceptable at a club?).  Class was tough and we sweat our butts off, but it was one of the best date nights ever.  We both felt strong after completing class and strong is sexy.  After a shower, of course.

http://www.cyclebar.com

file_000-67

4. Top Golf

This isn’t a high-intensity, calorie killing workout, but you do get some exercise and may be a little sore afterwards so I’m including it.  At Top Golf, you do not need to bring clubs or have any experience.  It is similar to bowling except you are hitting golf balls instead.  It is outside, but there are heaters at each bay and huge fans in the summer.  There’s a bar if you want to go inside and a few pool tables as well.  You have a private table at your hitting bay and a waiter comes by to get your drink and food order.  Top Golf has some delicious cocktails too!  The sharable drinks are fun and injectable donuts for dessert are a nice way to top it all off.  

http://www.topgolf.com

5. City Surf

Even though we live hours from the ocean, you can still surf in DFW!  There’s no actual water involved so you don’t even have to wear a swimsuit.  YAY! At City Surf, you workout on a surfboard that is suspended with balls and bungee cords so you have to balance just as you would on the water.  My husband was excited about trying something so different and didn’t feel like this one was too girly.  He was the only man in the class on the Sunday morning we tried it, but that may have been because I chose the “City Surf” workout.  They have other options such as circuits, yoga, and barre.  We had fun feeling awkward together and going to a class where we were on a level playing field was nice.  At the end, my husband’s board was covered in sweat so he definitely felt challenged.  It also reminded us that we need a trip to the beach ASAP.

file_000-32.  

http://www.citysurffitness.com

Leave a comment and let me know what you and your significant other like to do to sweat together?  

