file_000-47

I am DONE!  It’s over.  We’ve spent over 25 years together, but I have to say goodbye.  Yes, you have always been there for me, but this is not a healthy relationship for me anymore.  I have given so much money to you over the years, and all you’ve done is bring me down.  This will probably be even harder on the kids.  They have also fallen in love with you and won’t want to see you go.  The time has come, Dr. Pepper, for you to get out of our lives!  

Struggling to Say Goodbye,

Kaci

file_000-51

When my 13-year-old son got his first debit card and immediately went on Amazon Fresh and ordered himself a $15 dollar 8-pack of Dr. Pepper to be delivered to the house, I decided this addiction was OUT OF CONTROL.  He’s watched me for years drink up to 3 Dr. Peppers a day, and as all good parents say, I warned him, “Do as I say, not as I do”. Surprisingly, that method of parenting doesn’t work, so it looks like I have to find a way to stop this madness.

I’ve had an addiction to Dr. Pepper since I was a child.  My mom even told me recently she put it in my baby bottles!  I feel like she just revealed to me that I was actually a crack baby, and now my soda struggles make sense.  I have tried before to quit, but this time I am serious about it.  My rock bottom moment was the other day when I was out of DP, and I saw an open can in the back of the fridge hidden behind week-old leftovers.  I don’t know how long it had been there or who put it there, but I looked around to make sure no one saw me and sucked it down.  It was disgusting, I was disgusting, and I knew things could only go up from there.

Can I finally walk away for good?  Since there is no 12-step program or support group for soda addicts, I had to create my own strategy for quitting.  You are welcome to join me! After a month soda free, I should give out tokens.  Here is my day-by-day journal of what I sampled and how it worked for me.

Day 1 – Cold turkey.  I don’t have a strategy yet, except ridding soda from my house.  I ended up having serious cravings and making an afternoon trip to the gas station to grab a Dr. Pepper 10 then hid it in my purse.  So ashamed!

file_000-50

Day 2 – Trying Greens on the Go from It Works.  I bought 7 days worth for only $10, so very reasonably priced.  There’s berry or orange flavor to choose from and berry was the one I tried.  It doesn’t have a strong taste and isn’t too sweet.  It’s actually not bad at all and although I didn’t get a surge of energy, I didn’t want a 3:00 nap.  The Greens have fruits and vegetables as well as nutrient-rich superfoods, so I felt like I was doing something good for my body and on my way to recovery.

file_000-48

Day 3 – Still on the Greens.  Today my mouth felt dry and started craving something with flavor in the afternoon.  I went for cold-pressed juice.  I tried Vim Vitae and really liked the cucumber flavor.  They were nice enough to send me their new line of Exotics & Limeades.  My favorite was Acai berry.  It tastes like lemonade.

File_000 (49).jpeg

Day 4 – This is getting easier, but I still fantasize about that first sip of Dr. Pepper.  Ahh, the fizz.  I miss the fizz.

Day 5 – Plexus Slim day.  This is a sweet powder that tastes like a cherry Tootsie Roll Pop to me.  It is made to stabilize blood sugar which has so many benefits.  I like the taste a lot, but some say it is too sweet.  I really don’t have any cravings after drinking Plexus Slim, but I am very thirsty for water.  I drank about 6 bottles of water today which means lots of trips to the bathroom.

file_000-54

Day 6 – Slip up 😦  My 10-year-old daughter had a volleyball tournament this weekend. Today lasted 7 hours!!!  I brought my water, juice, and Plexus Slim along, but after several hours I was just bored and ended up getting a soda.  It wasn’t even that great.

Day 7 – Today I had to get a problem tooth extracted at the dentist.  On the instructions they sent home, it says no carbonated drinks for 5 days.  HA!  What perfect timing!  I would have been dying if I hadn’t been trying to quit DP already.  I now have official medical reasons to avoid soda.  I am feeling confident that I won’t have a relapse.

Thank you to all those who helped me make it through this week!  My support group includes the following:

Vim Vitaehttp://www.VimVitae.com  17% off if you buy online with code NEWYEAR2017 or buy at Whole Foods and Central Market

It Works – Jackie Rencken at http://www.SimplyFabWrap.com

Plexus – Whitney at http://www.freegirlsplexus.com or Vanessa at http://www.shopmyplexus.com/VanessaStern

Oral Surgeon Dr. Mark Davis at Frisco Oral & Dental Implant Surgery  – I would recommend him for dental work, but don’t get your teeth pulled just to quit drinking soda. 🙂

file_000-53

 

 

